Eleven state legislatures have banned transsexual drugs/procedures for minors

Iowa state legislature become the eleventh

The state of Iowa just passed SF 538, which bans transsexual drugs and procedures for minors.

It appears that SF 538 passed with lightning speed. It was introduced into the Iowa Senate on March 6th and passed on March 7th by a vote of 33 to 16. Then it was passed by the House the very next day by a vote of 58 to 39.

The bill has now been signed by the governor.

Iowa is the eleventh state legislature to pass a bill like this.

The Iowa governor is the eighth governor to sign such legislation. In Arkansas, Governor Asa Hutchinson vetoed a similar bill and was overridden by the legislature. Governor Andy Beshear vetoed a similar bill in Kentucky and is expected to be overridden.

A similar bill passed in West Virginia and sent to the governor on March 22nd. It is still waiting for him.

Meanwhile, the Missouri Senate passed SB 49, which bans transsexual drugs and procedures for minors, by a vote of 24-8. The Missouri Senate also passed SB 38, which prohibits males from participating in female sports in schools, by 25 to 8.

View a larger version of the map.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments